February 23

Matthew 25 (http://www.catholic.org/bible/daily_reading

35 For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you made me welcome, 36 lacking clothes and you clothed me, sick and you visited me, in prison and you came to see me.”

Today, I heard a teacher speak of types of people during her morning prayer. This got me thinking what type of person am I?

Am I mountain person? A mountain person boasts, is full of pride, and towers above other to feel a sense of worth. Yes, I can be.

Am I a valley person? A valley person is one who sustains people, provides life: food & water for those who need it. They are the fertile valley floors that give to those in need. Yes, I can be.

One of things we reflect on in Lent is Jesus in the desert. Jesus left the world of mountains and valleys to become a desert person. Desert people are those in need. They live in the dry arid regions with little for food and water. They live in the rain shadow of mountains, and always need food and water. They are at the mercy of God.

Jesus became a desert person. He wandered the desert for 40 days- completely at the will of God, but God provided. The devil tempted him to become a mountain a person. Promising Jesus money, fame and power, but Jesus chose to remain a desert person.

Jesus was living an example for everyone of us during Lent. Be a desert person for 40 days. See what it is like to live without the luxuries of  the valleys and the pride of the mountains.

Come wander the desert with Jesus this Lent.

Peace be with you.

Jason

Leave a comment